The Office of the Treasurer receives and disburses all monies, as dictated by state law, and records these transactions. The Treasurer, an elected official, reports to the Montana State Department of Revenue on administrative matters while the County Commissioners have budgetary authority.

The Office is divided into two groups. One deals with motor vehicle matters, including registrations, title transfers and applications, and the issuance of temporary stickers and permits.

The other serves as the general office for activities including receipts from taxes, fees and intergovernmental transfers. It also processes disbursements, invests funds, maintains bank accounts, seizes tax delinquent property, handles tax protests, and issues moving permits for mobile homes.

Staff Contacts

Name Title Phone
Brenda Anderson Treasurer (406) 228-6230
Taylor Hopstad Deputy Treasurer (406) 228-6246
Deb Dees Motor Vehicle Supervisor (406) 228-6211
Maria Morris Motor Vehicle Specialist (406) 228-6229